top of page
Search

Natalia Toby Earns All-American Honors

March 30, 2019


FDU junior Natalia Toby finished in sixth place in Epee and earned All-American honors for the second time at the NCAA Fencing Championships in Cleveland from March 21-24.


Toby finished 13-10 in the nationals. With 13 wins, Toby has the most by a Knight at a single NCAA championship, breaking her old record of 12 wins from the 2017 NCAA Championships.


The Bloomfield, N.J., native also set the program record for best individual finish. Toby broke  her own record from the 2017 NCAA Championships where she finished in seventh place. Toby has qualified for the NCAA her first three years at FDU.


Toby has the most NCAA Fencing Championships qualifications for any fencer in FDU history.


If Toby were to qualify next year for NCAA Championships, it would be her fourth time. It will be the first time in history a FDU fencer would qualify for the championships all four years of collegiate education.


“Last year, I came out 19th and didn’t come out with an All-American title. I was not mentally ready for the tournament and it cost me,” Toby told The Equinox. “I spent an entire year working on my mental preparation with the help of mindfulness, yoga, and confidence in my fencing and that was crucial to my success this year. My coaches are truly amazing in believe in me even when there were days I didn’t!


“I knew I would come out on top this weekend and that’s exactly what I did!”

0 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page